I don’t know what the junk I’m doing with family history.  The family that I picked was confusing… I got distracted… and then discouraged.

Plan:

1. Start with my near ancestors, check dates, combine duplicates, upload sources to new.familysearch.org.

2. If I find a birth, marriage, death date or place that is missing, go on a focused hunt for it, using Ancestry’s Source (which some say is the best reference for genealogy) and Ancestry’s Red Book (which tells you where to find specific records like Missouri marriage certificates) which are ONLINE.

3. Visit a FamilySearch center (formerly called Family History Center) to use their subscription of Ancestry.com

4. When I’m stuck again, spend lots of time on familysearch.org/learn.  Count time learning about genealogy as actual genealogy.

Wish me luck!

