Tags

,

My daughter loves a certain book we have.  It was written by one of my professors at BYU.  He put it on the booklist to buy for the class (shameless promotion, right?), so I did.

Little Annie wants to be too many things when she grows up- a mathematician, a dancer, an author, a veterinarian, a piano teacher, and a mommy on top of that.  One day her friend tells her that there is just no way, Annie McRae!  And she is sad.

I recently finished a book by Dr. Laura, called In Praise of Stay-At-Home Moms.  I liked it, of course, because it validated the viewpoints I already held.  She says that women just don’t have time and energy to raise children well AND hold a job.   I know everyone’s circumstances are different and sometimes certain hard choices are necessary. Luckily for me and my family, I’m able to stay home and devote my full time and attention (sound familiar?) to my children.

I participated in my stake’s Christmas orchestra, which was fun.  The other trumpet players were all in high school and it was awesome interacting with them.  I love being part of a musical ensemble.  It was fun, but it was also very difficult.  I had to leave at 6:45 but Bryan usually doesn’t get home until 7:15, sometimes later, depending on how much work there is to do.  So I had to get a baby sitter once a week right during dinner and bedtime.  It was hard and I decided that I shouldn’t really do that again soon.

So I’ve accepted it.  I’m a stay at home mom, and I’m committed to it.  So I might as well do an awesome job at it!  Living and teaching planfully, putting a lot of effort into the things I do.

And there will be time for other things later.  Annie’s dad comforts her with, “There’s always a way, Annie McRae.  It just doesn’t all have to happen today!”