Tags

How can we build our foundation upon the rock of our Redeemer?

And now, my sons, remember, remember that it is upon the rock of our Redeemer, who is Christ, the Son of God, that ye must build your foundation; that when the devil shall send forth his mighty winds, yea, his shafts in the whirlwind, yea, when all his hail and his mighty storm shall beat upon you, it shall have no power over you to drag you down to the gulf of misery and endless wo, because of the rock upon which ye are built, which is a sure foundation, a foundation whereon if men build they cannot fall.

Jesus Christ is certainly at the foundation of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.  He was at the foundations of the world.  He is the foundation of the Plan of Salvation.  He is also at the foundation of a healthy emotional life. 

Jesus Christ should be at the foundation of how we think about ourselves.  The most important thing to believe about ourselves is that we are sons and daughters of God and that Jesus Christ loves us infinitely, already, no matter what.  If I know that, how can I feel inferior or insecure?

Jesus Christ really needs to be at the foundation of how we try to change things about our lives.  There is power in the Atonement for change.  Following the pattern of repentance for any sort of change will bring success.

What if Jesus Christ were at the foundation of how we thought about others?  We would think the best of them; we would love them in spite of their faults; we would never entertain unkind thoughts; we would think of their welfare above our own.

If following his example were at the foundation of how we choose treat others, how blessed with friendship would we be?  How important would strangers feel when they met me?  How fulfilling would my marriage be?

Jesus Christ can bless us if he is at the foundation of our worldview.  If I know that through his atonement, my family can live together forever in happiness, then I can let go of a paralyzing fear of my children dying or my parents dying or my husband dying.  Having faith in Jesus Christ means that I feel the joy of eternal life with them right now.  If you are repenting, that joy is as Yours right now as it will ever be.

Jesus Christ is the foundation of my happiness.  I am happy because I have been redeemed.  I am happy because I will be exalted.  I am happy because I am perfectly known and loved.  I am happy because I can receive strength when I need it.  I am happy because all of my needs are taken care of.  If happiness is based on wealth, appearance, popularity, or skills, it could leave at any moment and certainly will at some point in a mortal life.

So, next week when you take the Sacrament, know you are promising to place Jesus Christ at the foundation of your emotional life.  Also know that if you fulfill this promise, you will be the happiest of all.

O God, the Eternal Father, we ask thee, in the name of thy Son, Jesus Christ, to bless and sanctify this wine to the souls of all those who drink of it, that they may do it in remembrance of the blood of thy Son, which was shed for them; that they may witness unto thee, O God, the Eternal Father, that they do always remember him, that they may have his Spirit to be with them. Amen.

