I make oatmeal everyday.  Sometimes.  I try to make oatmeal everyday.  There you go.  This is my current recipe, for your enjoyment or your judgement.

2 cups of quick oats (I just bought this. The USPS man thought it was a bit odd.)

5 1/2 cups of water

Put this on to boil for 15 minutes.  (Here is when I empty my dishwasher, brush my teeth, and get dressed.) It is done when it starts to stick to the sides.  Then I stir in the oats stuck to the side of the pan (this works because I use a non-stick pan.  It usually stirs right in, and we don’t waste it.  If I burn it on, it doesn’t melt back in quite as well.)

Then add:

1/2 cup brown sugar

heaping 1/2 teaspoon salt

2 TBSP butter?

4 shakes of cinnamon

Stir it up.  I dish it out, and then get my kids dressed.  When they are dressed and everyone is ready to eat, it has cooled off enough to eat.

This recipe exactly feeds my family of two adults who eat a lot, and two toddlers who more or less like oatmeal.

Peter makes a really big mess.  I dress him in a onesie to eat, and then wipe him off, rinse out his shirt, and dress him in his real outfit for the day.

Yummy variations:

Sprinkle in raisins while it cooks.  Or tiny apple cubes.

Or smoosh a banana, and add it while it cooks.  Then shake a couple more shakes of cinnamon in for banana bread oatmeal.

