We really like this pizza recipe, at our house.  It’s what I make when I have guests.  If I’ve had you over, and I made pizza for you, know that I was trying to impress you and I really don’t have too many other delicious recipes.

2 1/2 to 3 cups flour

2 TBSP oil

1 package or less than 1 TBSP yeast

1/2 tsp salt?

1 cup hot water

Mix (with hand mixer and dough hooks) 1 1/2 cups of the flour, the salt, the yeast, the oil and the water.  Then stir in with a wooden spoon as much of the remaining flour as you can,  

Put the dough on a floured surface (I use a plastic cutting board that is not the cutting board I use for meat.) and knead it until it isn’t sticky. Let it rest for 10 minutes (I put it back in the mixing bowl, float the bowl in hot water in the sink, and cover it with a clean, warm, wet hand towel.  It rises there for me better than on the counter, for whatever reason.  

While it is rising, grate your cheese, open the little tomato sauce can (6 ounces? 3 ounces? or half of a larger can) to and snip some green onions (I buy a package of green onions and then put them in a jar of water in the window.  They grow and replenish what I cut off.  Some stalks shrivel and die, though, and I have yet to do a scientific inquiry about whether I grow more than I cut off.  I imagine that if I planted them in dirt, less would die.)

Then smoosh the dough into a circle on your pizza pan (I use the kind with the holes, and I never have doughy pizzas.)  Spoon the sauce around in a circle, and put a lot of mozzarella cheese on it. I deliberately don’t know how much cheese it uses so I don’t feel bad.  But I put on enough to cover nearly all the sauce.  (It’s probably 2 cups.  Don’t tell me, though.) Then sprinkle on the green onions.  Use a bunch.  (More scientific measurements to come soon.)

Bake it for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees F.  It’s done when most of the cheese has brown spots on it, but don’t let the spot get black.  

One pizza feeds my family of two adults who eat a lot and two toddlers who like pizza.  This recipe doubles easily.

