Tags

,

I devoted my free time in January to learning Photoshop from lynda.com.  It was a great idea for a monthly goal.  Let me show you what I learned how to do!

These photos were shot at dusk, and we almost didn’t take them because we didn’t think they would turn out well.  They did, after some tinkering.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a terrible photo of Heidi I took with my phone.  We’re in a seafood restaurant, and she is looking out at the bay from which our food was drawn.

Photo-0018Heidi looking out window

All is not lost if you shoot with a flash indoors.

IMG_4347

adjusted shadows

This was such a cute moment.  Heidi and Peter were both sitting in the rocking chair, watching a movie.  It was very dark, though, and this what my phone did to the image.
IMG_20131219_094140

But there still was data in the pixels, which Photoshop rescued for me.

Rocking Together

Heidi and Grandma Brison liked to play the ukulele together. (In low light.)

IMG_20131219_170426

Playing ukelele together

Bryan wanders around as he brushes his teeth.  Here is a photographic clue of where he picked up the habit. 🙂

Photo-0011

Brush Walking

One time we met Spongebob.  We were in bad lighting though; I couldn’t even see the screen of the smartphone when I took the picture.
20130401_181449 Spongebob

This adjustment is subtle.  I changed the RGB balance of the photo to more closely match the proper RGB balance of Caucasian skin (The yellow should be a little higher than the magenta, which should be 3-5 times the cyan.  Apparently.)  When you adjust the colors so the face fits that recipe, it adds in the colors that were missing from the rest of the photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Same thing here, with the addition (subtraction?) of that light switch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are Bryan and I next to the Chesapeake Bay, but there were some things I didn’t like about the picture.  So I adjusted the lighting and added a stained glass filter to cover what I didn’t like.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Peter loves his mommy, especially without color.

IMG_4382

MY freckled mommyMy friend Kimber posted this image on her blog, and I couldn’t help myself.  Take a look at my changes (with her permission.)
kimber's glamor shot

kimber's finished glamor shot

This moment obviously never happened. 
sailing

Neither did this one. Getting one squirmy toddler to sit still and smile is hard enough.  Don’t even try to get two to do it simultaneously.  Just take a few pictures, put them on different layers, have Photoshop auto-align them, then mask the wiggly one on the top layer.

Heidi and Peter on the bench


IMG_20131122_114152 IMG_20131122_114203

Other cool effects:

ink drawing of Heidi at the splash pad

painting of Heidi in the carseat

painting of Peter on the couch

But this one is my favorite.  This is President Obama, getting off Marine One to go into the West Wing. He waved, and I waved back.  Right in front of Bryan’s camera.  But I redeemed myself, using Photoshop’s auto-align, auto-blend commands.

20120927_142455

marine one viewing

And… Surprise!
baby announcement