Tags

Bryan and I took a childbirth class before each of our babies.  He really enjoyed each one.  ;P

Our first was given by a labor and delivery nurse.  Natural birth people say those classes are to just teach you how to be a good patient and accept all the interventions They want to throw at you.  In Their defense, They do a really good job of maximizing positive health outcomes with their interventions.  South Sudan loses 2054 mothers for every 100,000 live births.  The United States loses 21  (CIA World Factbook).

Our second childbirth class was taught by a Hypnobabies instructor, in the very room that she gave birth to her daughter.  Bryan especially enjoyed this class.  In my Hypnobabies class materials, they give lots of reasons why you shouldn’t accept interruptions to the natural birth process, and they can make it seem compelling. Waiting to deliver past 42 weeks isn’t THAT much of a risk, MOST babies don’t need their vitamin K shot, and tearing is MUCH better than an episiotomy.  Doctors apparently just want you to have that baby as quickly as possible so they can charge as many delivery fees as possible in one day, and they don’t want to be sued, so they will intervene quickly to eliminate all risk.

So in preparation for baby #3, I wanted to research common childhood practices carefully, for myself. So I started at Wikipedia and took several days to read the articles relating to childbirth.  I took the time to actually click through the citations to the online medical journal articles.  Reading only the abstracts, Googling unfamiliar words, throwing out out-dated articles, reading lots of articles on the topic, taking notes, and saving citation information led me to my decisions.

I discussed the epidural in my last post on birth.  Before I ask for one, I want to exhaust all my non-epidural-or-narcotic options.  I’ll practice Hypnobabies self-hypnosis again, doing things a little differently this time.  

One problem I had with Hypnobabies was that they tell you to go limp with every pressure wave.  I understood it to mean I couldn’t use any of my muscles to support myself, so I wanted Bryan to hover next to me the whole time and hold me up.  I want to avoid that situation this time, so I have created an exercise routine that combines yoga with pushups and tricep dips and squats and such so I can be strong enough to hold myself up.  At least, I will have put in the time so that I believe myself when I tell myself I am strong enough to hold myself up.

Image

I intend to do this sequence every day.  (Today, however, I gave horsie rides while doing cat/cow, there was a little triangle under me when I was in triangle pose, and later on I was visited by a tree-hugger.)   When I start Hypnobabies, I’ll practice staying in hypnosis while doing my routine and talking to them.

I wanted to hire this doula.  Bryan really doesn’t enjoy birth.  I thought that if someone else was there to help me, he wouldn’t have to keep talking about my cervix to people or help me deal with birth goo.  But she costs $850.  We are thinking we can buy a lot of massagers, hot and cold packs, and aromatherapy oil for that much.  I searched on Pinterest for “doula bags” to see what real doulas bring with them, and am planning on getting some of the same things.  Additionally, there is a lot of information on the internet about natural birth comfort methods.  I checked out this book from the library, which has been really helpful and not too gooey.  I read reviews on the other go-to natural birth books.  (I think I’ll pass on those.)  I went through the scriptures and found verses that I think will help me, like Ether 12:6, 2 Nephi 4:33-35, Alma 7:11-13, 1 Nephi 17:50, 2 Nephi 31:20, Ether 12:26, and others.  I printed them out on notecards.  I’ll create a playlist of my favorite arrangements of comfort hymns to alternate with Hypnobabies tracks.  Also, I found a really good series of pain-coping techniques on youtube.  This video introduced an interesting concept to me, and all of her other videos were really helpful too.  Here is my cheat sheet for labor.

Image

Now that I’ve gotten all that out of my system, maybe Bryan can stop hearing about it every day. 

